Field of 64 announced for the NCAA DI baseball tournament

Source: NCAA
Source: NCAA
Updated: May. 31, 2021 at 11:53 AM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

MERIDIAN, Miss. (WTOK) - The road to Omaha begins this week.

The NCAA Division I baseball tournament selection show was held Monday morning with the 64 teams chosen announced.

Mississippi State (40-15) received a top eight seed as the No. 7 overall team. The Bulldogs will host a Regional and if they win the regional, they will then host a Super Regional.

The Bulldogs will open up postseason play against Samford (35-22). VCU (37-14) and Campbell (35-16) will also face off in Starkville with the winner facing the MSU-Samford winner.

Ole Miss (41-19) is hosting a Regional in Oxford and will face Southeast Missouri State (30-20) to open up tournament play. The Rebels also welcome in Southern Miss (37-19) and Florida State (30-22), who will face off at Swayze Field. The winner of USM-FSU will play the winner of the MSU-SE Missouri State matchup.

Alabama (31-24) sneaked its way into the NCAA tournament after a solid run in the SEC Tournament. The Crimson Tide will be competing in the Ruston Regional hosted by Louisiana Tech (40-18) and will open up play against North Carolina State (30-17). LA Tech, who finished as runner-ups in the Conference USA Tournament, will face Rider University (23-16).

The full NCAA baseball tournament bracket can be found here.

The SEC has nine teams in the tournament, which is the most of any conference.

Copyright 2021 WTOK. All rights reserved.