Abbeville’s Stewart, ACA’s Carlisle named ASWA Coaches of the Year; several Wiregrass athletes earn All-State honors

Published: Dec. 23, 2020 at 4:20 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

DOTHAN, Ala. (WTVY) - After leading their teams to the respective state championship games, Abbeville head coach LaBrian Stewart and Abbeville Christian head coach Ashley Carlisle were named Coaches of the Year as voted on by the Alabama Sports Writers Association.

Stewart led the Yellow Jackets to a 12-2 record and the program’s first berth in the state title game since 1971.

Carlisle had a huge turnaround with the Generals. After a disappointing 2019 season, the Generals flipped the script going 10-3 before falling to Crenshaw Christian in the AISA A title game.

A number of Wiregrass athletes also took home All-State honors.

First team selections:

Joshua McCray - Enterprise

Rodarius Thomas - Eufaula

Landon Holley - Charles Henderson

Gage Theus - Andalusia

Jaylen Nobles - Slocomb

Brody Campbell - Slocomb

Martavious Glanton - Abbeville

Randy Glanton - Abbeville

Rico Dozier - Abbeville

Arthur Thomas - Abbeville

Emmanuel Henderson - Geneva County

Tanner Patton - G.W. Long

Kobie Stringer - G.W. Long

Kenuwyn Dixon - Brantley

Carson Jones - Brantley

Bo Cook - Brantley

Anthone Stone - Florala

Zacchaeus Reese - Florala

Francisco Laureano - Samson

Jackson Blalock - Abbeville Chrisitian

J.J. Jimenez - Abbeville Christian

Jay Taylor - Pike Lib

Scott Taylor Renfroe - Pike Lib

Caleb Guice - Pike Lib

Peyton Dicks - Pike Lib

Mayes White - Pike Lib

Second Team selections:

Hess Horne - Eufaula

Zadan Thomas - Eufaula

J.B. Sanders - Charles Henderson

Chip Morgan - Andalusia

Spencer Carpenter - Rehobeth

Christian Ross - Dale County

Hal Smithart - Opp

Cole Jennings - Opp

Zakevin Pennington - Pike County

Hornando Wheeler - Pike County

Zeke Kelley - Wicksburg

Rashawn Miller Jr - Slocomb

Ky’Juan Kinsey - Abbeville

Tuff Hand - Ariton

C.J. McNabb - Ariton

Tucker Kilcrease - Brantley

Cole Welch - Brantley

Kedrick Brown - Brantley

Gunner Glisson - Samson

Braxton Brooks - Samson

Dre Cobb - Abbeville Christian

Jackson Etheridge - Lakeside

Chris Martin - Lakeside

Elijah Caldwell - Pike Lib

Ryan Barnes - Pike Lib

Mario Davenport - Pike Lib

Honorable Mentions:

Ethan Black - Eufaula

Jake Wilson - Andalusia

Jamal Maloney - Rehobeth

Peyton Ellis - Opp

Kevin Parreira - Opp

Jarrett Hendrix - Slocomb

Jayven Anderson - Abbeville

Will Birdsong - Geneva County

Copyright 2020 WTVY. All rights reserved.