North-South Soccer Rosters Announced for All Star Sports Week

By: Kim Allen Email
By: Kim Allen Email

A total of 72 outstanding junior student-athletes from across the state have been named to North-South All-Star soccer squads for the 16th annual Alabama All-Star Sports Week July 9-13, according to an announcement by Alvin Briggs, Director of the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association (AHSADCA).

Sports Week, which also includes in-state all-star games in baseball, softball, boys and girls basketball, volleyball and football, will also feature the Summer Conference with clinics and special sessions for coaches, principals, athletic directors, cheerleader coaches and officials. The volleyball teams have been announced and football and soccer squads will be announced at a later date.

Also, an All-Sports Equipment Expo and other related activities are scheduled throughout the week. Notable highlights include the Sportsmanship Banquet, which honors all schools that have not had an ejection or fine during the 2011-12 school year, and the Championship Coaches Awards Banquet that will include the naming of the 2011-12 Making A Difference Coaches of the Year.

Coaching the South boys soccer all-stars are Rick Andrew of Daphne and Jeff Killingsworth of Northview with Ken Wright of Alabama Christian serving as administrative coach. He will also serve in that capacity for the South girls squad. Coaching the North boys team are Lee Miller of Chelsea and Brian Quarles of Decatur with George Cavender the administrative coach. He too will serve as North girls administrative coach.

Coaches for the South girls are Mike Fricke of St. Paul’s and Clyde Banks of Carroll-Ozark. Coaching the North girls are Nathan Button of Thompson and Scott Flowers of Mountain Brook.

The AHSADCA operates under the auspices of the Alabama High School Athletic Association. Membership includes coaches of all AHSAA sports as well as administrators of member schools.

The rosters:



Josh Carpenter Chelsea GK 6'0 180

Hudson Carr Spain Park D 6'2 155

Marvin Castellanos Vestavia Hills GK 6'3 170

Bowen Dong Grissom M 5'7 140

Christopher Gregory Athens F 5'8 140

Sam Irvin Vestavia Hills M 5'10 155

Chris Jaudon Spain Park M 6'3 170

Kyle Kimel Briarwood Christian M 5’8 130

Trent Marshall John Carroll Catholic D 5'8 165

Alex McCullumsmith Mountain Brook M 5'9 140

Wellford Moore W'minster-Oak Mtn. D 6'2 165

Luke Reeves Hewitt-Trussville D 6'2 180

Wes Sandlin Oak Mountain D 5'9 135

Jorge Segura Collinsville M 5'8 140

Mills Sproull Oak Mountain M 5'10 138

Ryan Tapley Pelham F 5'11 172

Jackson Walraven Decatur D 5'7 187

Justin Whitten Florence M 5'6 155


Lee Miller

Brian Quarles

George Cavender
S.R. Butler (Retired) -Admin.


Carter Albrecht Saint Paul's M 6'2 175

Grayson Anzalone Montgomery Academy M 6'0 175

John Bradshaw Benjamin Russell F 5'7 135

Will Carpenter Daphne GK 6'1 180

Blake Chappell Benjamin Russell GK 6'0 185

William Cox Trinity Presbyterian D 6'3 175

Zachary Den Besten Enterprise M 5'9 130

Seth Duke Faith Academy M 5'10 160

Levi Ehmka Daphne M 5'9 155

Phillip Friedlander McGill-Toolen M 5'6 150

Nathan Gillespie Fairhope M 5'7 145

Nicholas Lothrop Auburn D 5'10 155

Daniel Marshall Prattville M 5'9 150

Mitchell Mobley Charles Henderson M 5'8 145

Brandon Perez Stanhope Elmore M 5'9 150

Welles Richardson Fairhope F 5'7 145

Tom Taylor UMS-Wright D 5'10 160

Connor Uhle Spanish Fort D 5'11 200


Rick Andrew

Jeff Killingsworth

Ken Wright
Alabama Christian - Admin.



Ellen Bruno Bob Jones D 5'2

Simone Charley Spain Park F 5'8

Grace Connolly Spain Park D 5'6

Marissa Davis Donoho D 5'2

Cate Eden Pell City GK 5'8

Annabelle Friedman Mountain Brook M 5'9

Michaela Graber Thompson F 5'7

Kourtnee Hayward Hoover M 5'6

Emily Knowling Randolph F 5'8

Mariah Mort Decatur F 5'9

Sharon Osterbind Jacksonville F 6'1

Toni Payne Oak Mountain M 5'9

Klaire Phillips Athens D 5'11

Elise Pittman Vestavia Hills GK 5'10

Juliana Ross Vestavia Hills M 5'4

Paula Simonetti Indian Springs M 5'1

Sara Smeltzer Briarwood Christian M 5'6

McKenna Wilfong Madison Academy D 5'9


Nathan Button

Scott Flowers
Mountain Brook

George Cavender
S.R. Butler (Retired) -Admin.


Cassidy Alwan Saint James F 5'5

Lexi Elgin Daphne D 5'1

Hannah Godwin Prattville M 5'4

Darian Hill Fairhope F 5'10

Abby Jones Auburn F 5'10

Kelly Joyner Saint James M 5'8

Sara Lester Saint Paul's GK 5'10

Emily Martin Auburn F 5'0

Hannah McLendon Northview M 5'7

Sarah Pearson Fairhope D 5'7

Midanah Penda Smiths Station M 5'5

Sarah Phillips Carroll M 5'5

Johannah Scott Spanish Fort GK 5'4

Marley Sport Trinity Presbyterian F 5'1

Paxton Templin Benjamin Russell F 5'9

Jessica Watts Spanish Fort M 5'2

Joycee Wharton Saint Paul's M 5'5


Mike Fricke
Saint Paul's

Clyde Banks

Ken Wright
Alabama Christian - Admin.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 149944625 -
Gray Television, Inc.