Maxwell Award Watch List Released

By: Kim Allen Email
By: Kim Allen Email

The Maxwell Football Club today announced its watch lists for the 76th annual Maxwell Award and the 18th annual Bednarik Award.

The Maxwell Award has been given to America's outstanding collegiate football player since 1937, and is named in honor of sportswriter Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell. The Bednarik Award has been presented to the nation's top defensive player since 1995. A former standout at Penn and with the Philadelphia Eagles, Chuck Bednarik is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame's Class of '69 and the NFL Hall of Fame's Class of '67.

The watch lists will once again incorporate a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) programs and conferences from coast to coast. Returning Maxwell Award semifinalists from 2011 include USC QB Matt Barkley, Clemson QB Tajh Boyd, Oklahoma QB Landry Jones and USC WR Robert Woods. No program has more athletes on this year's Maxwell Award watch list than USC, which is also represented by WR Marqise Lee and RB Curtis McNeal.

The Bednarik Award watch list features four of last season's semifinalists as well, Kansas State LB Arthur Brown, LSU CB Tyrann Mathieu, Notre Dame LB Manti Te'o and Stanford LB Chase Thomas. It's no coincidence that both of last year's National Championship Game participants, Alabama and LSU, boast four defensive players on this year's watch list. Only Michigan State was able to match the Crimson Tide's and Tigers' total.

The 2011 Maxwell Award winner, Stanford QB Andrew Luck, made himself available for the 2012 NFL Draft, where he was selected No. 1 overall by the Indianapolis Colts. The latest Bednarik Award winner, Mathieu, on the other hand, joins Penn State's Paul Posluszny and Northwestern's Pat Fitzgerald as the only recipients in award history to return to school with a chance to defend his title.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced October 29, and the three finalists for each award will be unveiled November 19. The winners of the 2011 Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show held on December 6. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 1, 2013.

The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee, evaluating past performance and future potential. The Club reserves the right to make additions and deletions to these lists as the 2012 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA sports information directors, head coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for the awards.

The Maxwell and Bednarik Awards are members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website at

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Fifteen of the association's 21 awards select a preseason watch list, and this is just the second time the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2012 preseason watch list calendar:

Mon., July 9: Maxwell Award/Bednarik Award
Tues., July 10: Mackey Award/Rimington Trophy
Wed., July 11: Lou Groza Award/Ray Guy Award
Thurs., July 12: Bronko Nagurski Trophy/Outland Trophy
Fri., July 13: Jim Thorpe Award
Mon., July 16: Butkus Award/Rotary Lombardi Award
Tues., July 17: Biletnikoff Award
Wed., July 18: Davey O'Brien Award
Thurs., July 19: Doak Walker Award
Fri., July 20: Walter Camp Award

AJ McCarron Alabama QB Jr.
Eddie Lacy Alabama RB Jr.
Cameron Marshall Arizona State RB Sr.
Tyler Wilson Arkansas QB Sr.
Knile Davis Arkansas RB Jr.
Cobi Hamilton Arkansas WR Sr.
Onterio McCalebb Auburn RB Sr.
Terrance Williams Baylor WR Sr.
Branden Oliver Buffalo RB Jr.
Riley Nelson BYU QB Jr.
Keenan Allen California WR Jr.
Isi Sofele California RB Sr.
Tajh Boyd Clemson QB Jr.
Sammy Watkins Clemson WR So.
Andre Ellington Clemson RB Sr.
Lyle McCombs Connecticut RB So.
EJ Manuel Florida State QB Sr.
Derek Carr Fresno State QB Jr.
Robbie Rouse Fresno State RB Sr.
Aaron Murray Georgia QB Jr.
Charles Sims Houston RB Jr.
James Vandenberg Iowa QB Sr.
Collin Klein Kansas State QB Sr.
Teddy Bridgewater Louisvile QB So.
Denard Robinson Michigan QB Sr.
Fitzgerald Toussaint Michigan RB Jr.
Le’Veon Bell Michigan State RB Jr.
James Franklin Missouri QB Jr.
Mike Glennon NC State QB Sr.
Rex Burkhead Nebraska RB Sr.
Giovani Bernard North Carolina RB So.
Bryn Renner North Carolina QB Jr.
Cierre Wood Notre Dame RB Sr.
Tyler Eifert Notre Dame TE Sr.
Braxton Miller Ohio State QB So.
Landry Jones Oklahoma QB Sr.
Kenny Stills Oklahoma WR Jr.
Dominique Whaley Oklahoma RB Sr.
Joseph Randle Oklahoma State RB Jr.
Kenjon Barner Oregon RB Sr.
De’Anthony Thomas Oregon WR So.
Silas Redd Penn State RB Jr.
Ray Graham Pittsburgh RB Sr.
Zach Line SMU RB Sr.
Marcus Lattimore South Carolina RB Jr.
Stepfan Taylor Stanford RB Sr.
Casey Pachall TCU QB Jr.
Da’Rick Rogers Tennessee WR Jr.
Tyler Bray Tennessee QB Jr.
Malcolm Brown Texas RB So.
Christine Michael Texas A&M RB Sr.
Seth Doege Texas Tech QB Sr.
Johnathan Franklin UCLA RB Sr.
Matt Barkley USC QB Sr.
Robert Woods USC WR Jr.
Marqise Lee USC WR So.
Curtis McNeal USC RB Sr.
John White IV Utah RB Sr.
Zac Stacy Vanderbilt RB Sr.
Logan Thomas Virginia Tech QB Jr.
Keith Price Washington QB Jr.
Marquess Wilson Washington State WR Jr.
Geno Smith West Virginia QB Sr.
Tavon Austin West Virginia WR Sr.
Montee Ball Wisconsin RB Sr.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 161842985 -
Gray Television, Inc.