Chipola Softball Team Dominates Panhandle Conference Awards

By: Kim Allen Email
By: Kim Allen Email

MARIANNA—Thirteen members of the Chipola College softball team were named to the Panhandle All-Conference team.

Ebony Wright was named Conference Player of the Year. Eva Voortman was selected as the Conference Pitcher of the Year.

Chipola head coach Belinda Hendrix was selected as the Panhandle Conference Coach of the Year.

Seven Lady Indians—Hayley Parker, Sayumi Akamine, Ebony Wright, Stephanie Garrels, Lindsey Hamlin and Eva Voortman—were named First Team All-Conference. Four Chipola players—Chelsey Steedley, Mya Anderson, Chandler Seay and Kristen Allen—were named Second Team All-Conference. Lady Indians Jasmine Tankersley, Michele Hester and Eron Milton earned honorable mention selections.

The Lady Indians are the Panhandle Conference champion with a current league record of 12-4 and 45-10 overall and are ranked first in the FCSAA State Poll.

Chipola is the top seed in the Gulf District bracket of the State Tournament in Pensacola. The Lady Indians face Hillsborough at 2 p.m., Friday, April 27. Win or lose, Chipola will play again at 7 p.m., Friday. Play continues on Saturday.

The state title game between the winners of the Gulf and Atlantic brackets is set for Sunday, April 29. The winners of each bracket advance to the NJCAA National Tournament May 17 in St. George, Utah.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 148987775 -
Gray Television, Inc.