Auburn's Alex Kozan named to freshman All-SEC team

By: Taylor Tannebaum Email
By: Taylor Tannebaum Email

Courtesy Auburn Media Relations

AUBURN, Ala. – Auburn offensive guard Alex Kozan, a 13-game starter on Auburn’s Southeastern Conference championship team, was named to the freshman All-SEC team Thursday.

Kozan was Auburn’s only representative.

Kozan, from Valor Christian High School in Castle Rock, Colo., signed with Auburn in 2012 after a recruiting battle that went well beyond signing day. He redshirted last season and won the starting job during preseason camp this season.

Auburn made an early impression on Kozan, and he eventually chose the Tigers over Iowa.

“I just thought it was the best fit for me,” Kozan said. “When I was going through the recruiting process, I looked at it one of two ways: Either I can stay home and go to Colorado or go somewhere that gives me the best chance of doing what I want to do.”

Kozan helped pave the way for the nation’s most prolific running game and will finish his redshirt freshman year in the BCS Championship Game against Florida State on Jan. 6 at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, Calif.

Despite having four sacks, 7.5 tackles for loss, Auburn freshman Carl Lawson was not chosen for the team. Neither were fellow defensive linemen Montravius Adams and Elijah Daniel, both of whom were in the regular playing rotation.

Daniel had 2.5 sacks, three tackles for loss and was tied for second on the team with 11 quarterback hurries. Adams had 20 tackles and seven quarterback hurries.

Wide receiver Marcus Davis was third on the team with 22 receptions for 191 yards but also was not among those honored.


TE: Hunter Henry, Arkansas

OL: Alex Kozan, Auburn; Laremy Tunsil, Ole Miss; Andrew Jelks, Vanderbilt; Denver Kirkland, Arkansas.

C: Jon Toth, Kentucky.

WR: Laquon Treadwell, Ole Miss; Marques North, Tennessee.

QB: Maty Mauk,, Missouri.

RB: Alex Collins, Arkansas; Kevin Taylor, Florida.

AP: Pharoh Cooper, South Carolina.


DL: Chris Jones, Mississippi State; A’Shawn Robinson, Alabama; Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss; Darius Philon, Arkansas.

LB: Darian Claiborne, Texas A&M; Leonard Floyd, Georgia; Skai Moore, South Carolina.

DB: Vernon Hargreaves, Florida; Tony Conner, Ole Miss; Tre’Davious White, LSU; Cameron Sutton, Tennessee.


PK: Elliott Fry, South Carolina.

P: Johnny Townsend, Florida.

RS: Pharoh Cooper, South Carolina.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 235640771 -
Gray Television, Inc.