SEC Sending Three Teams to Women's College World Series

By: Kim Allen Email
By: Kim Allen Email

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The Southeastern Conference will send three of the eight final teams to the Women’s College World Series (WCWS) and vie for the league’s first national title. The series will begin on Thursday, May 31 and run through Wednesday, June 6, with an “if necessary” game slated for June 6.

The SEC Champion Alabama Crimson Tide (55-7) is making its eighth overall appearance to the WCWS. Alabama defeated Michigan in the Tuscaloosa Super Regional to advance to the WCWS. The No. 2 seed Crimson Tide will open up tournament play against No. 7 seed and SEC foe Tennessee, the winner of the Knoxville Super Regional, at 6 p.m. CT on Thursday. The game will be televised on ESPN2. Tennessee (52-12) is making its fifth WCWS appearance and advanced to Oklahoma City by defeating league foe Georgia.

LSU (39-23) makes its third WCWS appearance and first since 2004 after defeating No. 9 seed Missouri in the Columbia Super Regional. The Tigers will play No. 1 seed California at 2:30 pm CT on Thursday. The game will be broadcast live on ESPN2.

Since 1997, the SEC has had six teams advance to the Women’s College World Series: Alabama (‘00, ‘03, ‘05, ‘06, ‘08, ‘09, ‘11, ‘12), Florida (‘08, ‘09, ‘10, ‘11), Georgia (‘09, ‘10), LSU (‘01, ‘04, ‘12), South Carolina (‘07) and Tennessee (‘05, ‘06, ‘07, ‘10, ‘12). Florida advanced to the Championship Series in 2011.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 155127475 -
Gray Television, Inc.