Nick Saban Wins Bobby Bowden Coach of the Year Award

By: Kim Allen Email
By: Kim Allen Email
Saban Honored for Third Time in Four Years.

Alabama head coach Nick Saban is hugged by AJ McCarron, Barrett Jones and Cyrus Kouandjio after the BCS national championship college football game against Notre Dame Monday, Jan. 7, 2013, in Miami. Alabama won 42-14. ((AP Photo/Chris O'Meara))

By Andrew Gribble |

TUSCALOOSA, Alabama -- Nick Saban has won three national championships over the last four seasons and he can now say the same about the Bobby Bowden National Collegiate Coach of the Year award.

Saban was named today as the award's recipient by Birmingham's Over the Mountain Touchdown Club. He won the inaugural award after Alabama's 2009 championship season and collected it again when the Crimson Tide won the 2011 title.

Former Auburn coach Gene Chizik (2010) is the only other person to win the award.

For more information on this story, visit:

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 188157081 -
Gray Television, Inc.