Newton named Manning Award winner for 2010

By: AP
By: AP

NEW ORLEANS (AP) - Auburn quarterback and Heisman Trophy winner Cam Newton has been selected as the winner of the Manning Award.

The award, now in its seventh year, is voted on by a panel of
national media and presented by Sugar Bowl organizers to the top
quarterback in the nation.

In his lone season at Auburn, Newton led the Tigers to a 14-0
season that ended with a victory over Oregon in the BCS national
championship game.

The junior from College Park, Ga., rushed for 1,473 yards and 20
touchdowns and passed for 2,854 yards and 30 TDs. He also caught a touchdown pass to account for a single-season school-record 51

Newton has announced he will forego his senior season to enter
the 2011 NFL draft.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 114246579 -
Gray Television, Inc.