Newton, Luck and James finalists for Walter Camp

By: AP
By: AP

NEW HAVEN, Conn. (AP) - Auburn quarterback Cam Newton, cleared
by the NCAA to play in the SEC title game, is a finalist for the
Walter Camp player of the year award.

He's joined by Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck and Oregon
Running back LaMichael James. The award is voted on by head coaches
and sports information directors at bowl subdivision schools.

Newton has thrown for 2,254 yards and 24 touchdowns while
running for 1,336 yards and 18 touchdowns for No. 2 Auburn. The
NCAA declared him eligible to play Wednesday after investigating a
pay-for-play scandal involving his father.

James, the nation's leading rusher, is averaging almost 155
yards per game for the top-ranked Ducks. Luck has passed for 3,051
yards and 28 touchdowns for the No. 5 Cardinal.

The winner will be announced on Dec. 9.

(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 111155389 -
Gray Television, Inc.