Newton, Fairley lead Auburn domination of All-SEC

ATLANTA (AP) - Top-ranked Auburn has claimed three awards on The Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference team. Cam Newton is a unanimous choice for offensive player of the year, Nick Fairley is the pick for top defensive player and Gene Chizik gets the nod for coach of the year.

Newton and Fairley are both unanimous first-team selections on
the list released Monday. So is one of their teammates, offensive
lineman Lee Ziemba.

South Carolina's Marcus Lattimore is the unanimous choice for
freshman of the year, as well as being named on all ballots for
running back.

LSU has three unanimous first-team picks: defensive tackle Drake
Nevis, cornerback Patrick Peterson and kicker Josh Jasper. Auburn
and LSU lead with four players each on the elite squad.

(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 111397364 -
Gray Television, Inc.