Fans Vote Cam Newton Number One in Past 50 Years

By: Kim Allen Email
By: Kim Allen Email
Newton Tops SEC Legends.

Auburn's Cam Newton

Cam Newton had one of the great seasons in Auburn history in 2010. Newton won the Heisman Trophy and led the Tigers to the BCS National Championship.

But, Newton impressed more than just Auburn fans during his meteoric one-year run to the mountain top of college football. A fan vote on has deemed Newton's individual performance as the best of the past 50 years in the SEC.

Newton received 26 percent of the vote on ESPN's website, beating out Herschel Walker and Tim Tebow, also Heisman winners who led their teams to national titles.

Former Alabama star Derrick Thomas finished fourth in the vote.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 158950985 -
Gray Television, Inc.