Bracket Set for SEC Softball Tournament

By: Kim Allen Email
By: Kim Allen Email

From SEC Media Relations:

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The Southeastern Conference announced its 2012 Softball Tournament field Sunday with No. 3/4 Alabama claiming the No. 1 seed. The tournament will be hosted by the Crimson Tide at Rhoads Stadium, May 10-12 in Tuscaloosa, Ala. The entire tournament will be televised live on the ESPN family of networks. The three quarterfinal games and the semifinals will air on ESPNU, while the fourth quarterfinal game and the championship will air primetime on ESPN at 7:00 p.m. (CT).

Alabama clinched their third consecutive and fourth overall SEC title with a 5-3 win over Florida on Sunday. It is the 16th consecutive SEC Tournament appearance for the Tide. The Tennessee Lady Vols earned the No. 2 seed and the Eastern Division title while the Gators enter the tournament as the No. 3 seed. Florida will make its 16th consecutive SEC tournament appearance.

On Thursday, May 12, No. 3 Florida (44-10, 21-7) will open up the tournament against No. 6 LSU (34-21, 15-13 SEC) at 11:00 a.m. (CT), followed by No. 2 Tennessee (45-9, 22-6) vs. No. 7 Auburn (33-20, 12-16) at 1:30 p.m. (CT). The evening session will feature No. 4 Georgia (40-14, 17-11 SEC) vs. No. 5 Kentucky (29-27, 15-13 SEC) at 4:00 p.m. (CT) while No. 1 Alabama (47-6, 23-5 SEC) takes on No. 8 seed Mississippi State (33-21, 12-16 SEC) in the nightcap at 7:00 p.m. (CT).

Covering the games will be ESPN’s softball crew of Beth Mowins, Holly Rowe, Michele Smith, Jessica Mendoza and Cara Capuano. will be live at the tournament as well, with exclusive online coverage behind the scenes.

Tickets for the single-elimination tournament can be purchased through the Alabama Athletic Ticket Office by visiting

2012 Tournament Bracket

Thursday, May 10

Game 1: #3 Florida vs. #6 LSU (ESPNU) 11:00 a.m.

Game 2: #2 Tennessee vs. #7 Auburn (ESPNU) 1:30 p.m.

Game 3: #4 Georgia vs. #5 Kentucky (ESPNU) 4:00 p.m.

Game 4: #1 Alabama vs. #8 Mississippi State (ESPN) 7:00 p.m.

Friday, May 11 (Semifinals)

Game 5: Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner (ESPNU) 2:00 p.m.

Game 6 : Game 3 winner vs. Game 4 winner (ESPNU) 4:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 12

Championship Game (ESPN) 7:00 p.m.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 150537055 -
Gray Television, Inc.