Alabama Sports Writers Associaton Awards Cam Newton

By: Matt Harris Email
By: Matt Harris Email

Cam Newton earned NFL Rookie of the Year honors in 2011, and the state where he was a college star has decided to give him another award.

The Alabama Sports Writers Association has named the former Auburn quarterback its pro athlete of the year following his record-breaking rookie season with the Carolina Panthers. The formal announcement will be made Sunday night during the association's annual convention.

Newton won the Heisman Trophy in 2010 and was honored by the sports writers association as the state's amateur athlete of the year. He made it two state awards in a row after becoming the first NFL player to pass for 4,000 yards and run for at least 500 yards in the same season.

He passed for an NFL rookie-record of 4,051 yards. His 14 rushing touchdowns were the most for a quarterback -- rookie or veteran -- in NFL history.

Newton has won a junior college national title, won the BCS national title and made it to the Pro Bowl in the last three years.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 158275225 -
Gray Television, Inc.