Alabama Softball Team Cleans Up at SEC Post-Season Awards

By: Kim Allen Email
By: Kim Allen Email

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The Southeastern Conference announced its annual softball awards to cap the 2012 season and kick off the SEC Softball Tournament in Tuscaloosa, Ala., May 10-12. The All-SEC Teams consist of 24 total student-athletes, along with a 12-member All-Freshman team and a nine-member All-Defensive Team, however, no ties were broken. The University of Florida’s Michelle Moultrie was named Player of the Year while the University of Alabama’s Jackie Traina earned Pitcher of the Year honors. Alabama’s Pat Murphy was selected as Coach of the Year while Freshman of the Year was awarded to the University of Arkansas’ Devon Wallace. Jennifer Fenton (Alabama) and Brittany Mack (LSU) were voted Co-Scholar-Athletes of the Year. The awards were voted on by the league’s head coaches.

Moultrie becomes the fourth Florida player to earn the Player of the Year honor and is the second Gator to earn the accolade in as many years. She has 23 bunt singles on the year and leads the SEC in batting average and fielding percentage. Moultrie also ranks third in the SEC in hits, doubles and on‐base percentage, and is fifth in runs scored and slugging percentage. She is a Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award finalist, ranks 10th in the nation in runs per game and was named USA Softball National Player of the Week midway through the season for her play against Arkansas.

Traina led the Tide in the circle with a 31-2 mark and held a school-record 28 game-winning streak throughout much of the season. She is second in the nation in victories and 11th in the NCAA in strikeouts per seven innings. The sophomore leads the league in strikeouts looking with 47 and was a three-time SEC Pitcher of the Week honoree this season. She is a Top 25 finalist for the 2012 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award.

Murphy received Coach of the Year honors after guiding the Tide to its third consecutive and fourth overall SEC Regular Season title. Alabama posted a 23-5 record in league play this season and became just the second team in SEC history to win three consecutive SEC titles. This is the third Coach of the Year honor for Murphy. He previously earned the honor in 2006 and 2010.

As a freshman, Wallace led the league in home runs (12), on-base percentage (.549) and walks (26) during conference play and is the first Razorback to earn the SEC Freshman of the Year award. Wallace is second in the conference in total bases, ranks top-10 in seven different categories and helped Arkansas to wins over nationally ranked Alabama, Baylor, Georgia and Tennessee.

Fenton was named to the Alabama Dean's List six of her seven semesters at UA. She has received Academic All‐SEC honors her entire career and volunteered at the Stallings‐Rise Center as a teaching assistant for children with special needs. Fenton is also a member of the Future Teachers of America Society at UA. Mack is LSU's nomination for the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar‐Athlete Post‐Graduate Scholarship. The pitcher created and championed the Geaux Play program where over 400 sporting good items were collected for the special needs children of the Miracle League in Baton Rouge.

A complete listing of the 2012 SEC Softball postseason awards follows:

Player of the Year

Michelle Moultrie, Florida

Pitcher of the Year

Jackie Traina, Alabama

Coach of the Year

Pat Murphy, Alabama

Freshman of the Year

Devon Wallace, Arkansas

Co-Scholar-Athletes of the Year

Jennifer Fenton, Alabama; Brittany Mack, LSU

First Team All-SEC

P - Jackie Traina, Alabama

P - Ellen Renfroe, Tennessee

IF - Raven Chavanne, Tennessee

IF - Brittany Cervantes, Kentucky

IF - Kaila Hunt, Alabama

IF - Madison Shipman, Tennessee

OF - Michelle Moultrie, Florida

OF - Jennifer Fenton, Alabama

OF - Lauren Lackey, South Carolina

OF - Kat Dotson, Tennessee

C - Kristyn Sandberg, Georgia

DP/U - Devon Wallace, Arkansas

Second Team All-SEC

P - Rachele Fico, LSU

P - Hannah Rogers, Florida; Erin Arevalo, Georgia

IF - Lauren Gibson, Tennessee

IF - Lauren Guzman, Auburn

IF - Cassie Reilly-Boccia, Alabama

IF - Kara Dill, Kentucky

OF - Jaz Lunceford, Alabama

OF - Kayla Braud, Alabama

OF - RT Cantillo, Ole Miss

OF - Melissa Davin, Tennessee

C - Kendall Dawson, Alabama; Kelsey Horton, Florida

DP/U - Amanda Locke, Alabama

Freshman All-SEC

P - Kimmy Beasley, Arkansas

P - Alyssa Bache, Florida

IF - Lauren Haeger, Florida

IF - Paige Wilson, Georgia

IF - Sami Fagan, Florida

IF - Allison Brown, Ole Miss

OF - A.J. Andrews, LSU

OF - Jessica Damico, Florida

OF - Branndi Melero, Auburn

OF - Ashley Phillips, Mississippi State

C - Griffin Joiner, Kentucky

DP/U - Devon Wallace, Arkansas

SEC All-Defensive

P - Hannah Rogers, Florida

C - Kendall Dawson, Alabama

1B - Cassie Reilly-Boccia, Alabama

2B - Lauren Gibson, Tennessee

SS - Madison Shipman, Tennessee

3B - Brittany Cervantes, Kentucky

LF - Ashley Langoni, LSU

CF - Michelle Moultrie, Florida

RF - Jaz Lunceford, Alabama

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 150831075 -
Gray Television, Inc.