Alabama Lands 3 Players on Outland Trophy Watch List

By: Matt Harris Email
By: Matt Harris Email

(DOTHAN) - Only six teams landed three players on the preseason watch list for the Outland Trophy, annually awarded to the nation's top interior lineman.

The Alabama Crimson Tide is one of those teams. 64 players in total have been named to the Outland Trophy watch list by the Football Writers Association of America.

The Crimson Tide place a guard, center and defensive lineman on the list.

Alabama center Ryan Kelly, who started nine of 13 games as he battled a knee injury, made the list as the leader of the Crimson Tide's offensive line.

Both of the Alabama representatives at guard play on the left side. Alabama's Arie Kouandjio, who will man the left side next to Kelly and provide an anchor to the Crimson Tide.

Alabama defensive lineman A'Shawn Robinson made the list after producing 5.5 sacks and eight tackles-for-loss as a true freshman and earning freshman All-American honors last season.

The Outland Trophy has been awarded since 1946. Three Alabama players have won the award: Chris Samuels in 1999, Andre Smith in 2008 and Barrett Jones in 2011. On the other side of the coin, Auburn has won the award twice, with Zeke Smith in 1958 and Tracy Rocker in 1988.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 266669421 -
Gray Television, Inc.