Waltrip wins on anniversary of Earnhardt's death

By: AP
By: AP

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (AP) - Michael Waltrip has won at Daytona on
the 10-year anniversary of his first victory, the one marred by the
death of Dale Earnhardt.

Waltrip passed Elliott Sadler in the final hundred yards of the
season-opening Trucks Series race Friday night, then celebrated an
emotional victory a decade after his car owner died on the last lap
of the Daytona 500.

Waltrip had tears in his eyes as he talked about what the win
meant. He also became the 22nd driver to win races in each of
NASCAR's top three series.

Waltrip, Sadler, Timothy Peters, Miquel Paludo and Clay Rogers
were the only ones who avoided damage in two wild, multi-truck
wrecks late.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 116517368 - wtvy.com/a?a=116517368
Gray Television, Inc.