NASCAR News June 16

By: AP
By: AP


BROOKLYN, Mich. (AP) -- Marcos Ambrose captured his first Sprint Cup pole with a blistering run of 203.241 mph during qualifying at Michigan International Speedway. It marks the first time in a quarter-century the 200 mph mark was broken during qualifying on NASCAR's top circuit.

Nineteen drivers surpassed 200 mph on the newly paved surface and 40 broke the previous track record of 194.232, set by Ryan Newman in 2005.

The last pole winner to break 200 mph in this series was Bill Elliott in 1987 at Talladega.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 159336195 -
Gray Television, Inc.