NASCAR Inducts Second Class to Hall of Fame

By: Kim Allen Email
By: Kim Allen Email

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (AP) -- The NASCAR Hall of Fame welcomed its most diverse class to date Friday night, when Dale Inman opened the ceremony as the first crew chief to be inducted.

Inman was introduced by seven-time NASCAR champion Richard Petty, a member of the first Hall of Fame class. Inman crew chiefed Petty to all his titles, and won an eighth with Terry Labonte.

Also in the third Hall of Fame class was pioneer team owner Glen Wood, modified driver Richie Evans and three-time champions Darrell
Waltrip and Cale Yarborough. Evans was killed in a 1985 accident at

NASCAR chairman Brian France presented the four living inductees
with Hall of Fame jackets prior to the ceremony, and Waltrip grew
emotional as soon as he got on stage.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 137804333 -
Gray Television, Inc.