Tyrese Tanner named first-team All-SEC

By  | 

AUBURN, Ala. – Tyrese Tanner, the league’s third-leading scorer, is one of four Auburn women’s basketball players to earn conference honors as announced by the Southeastern Conference Tuesday morning. Tanner was named first-team All-SEC, Brandy Montgomery earned All-Freshman honors and both Tanner and Hasina Muhammad were picked for the All-Defense team.

“I am very proud of Tyrese and the work she has put in this season,” said head coach Terri Williams-Flournoy. “She has matured so much this season and this award is well deserved. It’s great to have two players represented for defense. We are a defensive team, so it should be that way. Defense is what we focus on and what we stress as the way we’ll win ballgames.

“I am very happy for Brandy,” Williams-Flournoy added. “She knew coming in if she worked extremely hard, she had an opportunity to make an impact. She’s doing a great job, especially being asked to play so many minutes.”

Tanner, Auburn’s first first-team All-SEC selection since 2011 (Alli Smalley), finished the season averaging 17.1 points per game, after four 20-point performances in her last five games. The senior also ranks in the SEC’s top-20 for field goal percentage, steals, blocked shots and rebounding. She also led Auburn in scoring for the third consecutive year, making her one of only six players in school history to lead her team in three or more years. Tanner was the senior leader on a team that featured eight new faces, including six freshmen.

As just a freshman, Montgomery has made a huge impact in the scoring column for Auburn. She is second on the roster in scoring with 11.6 points per game. She has started in 27 games and ranks fourth in the SEC among freshman in scoring. The Port St. Lucie, Fla., native has double-digit scoring performance in 20 of her 28 games played this season, including two 20-point outings. She recorded her first double-double in the season finale at Ole Miss with 16 points and 10 rebounds.

Auburn ranks in the NCAA top-70 in three categories and all three reflect the Tigers’ attention to defense – 13th in steals per game (10.6), 41st in blocked shots (4.6 bpg) and 70th in scoring defense (62.8 ppg). The reason for the success is in large part thanks to Muhammad and Tanner.

Muhammad has been hampered by an injury that has kept her out of games and limited in others, but she has still remained one of the league’s toughest defenders with a league-leading 2.7 steals per game and ranks fourth with 2.0 blocks per game. Tanner averages 1.8 steals, 1.2 blocks and 6.3 rebounds per game.

First Team
Tyrese Tanner, Auburn
Jaterra Bonds, Florida
Theresa Plaisance, LSU
Martha Alwal, Mississippi State
Bri Kulas, Missouri
Aleighsa Welch, South Carolina
Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina
Meighan Simmons, Tennessee
Isabelle Harrison, Tennessee
Courtney Walker, Texas A&M

Second Team
Jessica Jackson, Arkansas
Shacobia Barbee, Georgia
Jennifer O’Neill, Kentucky
DeNesha Stallworth, Kentucky
Tia Faleru, Ole Miss
Valencia McFarland, Ole Miss
Alaina Coates, South Carolina
Courtney Williams, Texas A&M
Jasmine Lister, Vanderbilt
Christina Foggie, Vanderbilt

Ashley Williams, Alabama
Jessica Jackson, Arkansas
Brandy Montgomery, Auburn
Ronni Williams, Florida
Linnae Harper, Kentucky
Raigyne Moncrief, LSU
Breanna Richardson, Mississippi State
Alaina Coates, South Carolina
Andraya Carter, Tennessee

Tyrese Tanner, Auburn
Hasina Muhammad, Auburn
Shacobia Barbee, Georgia
Martha Alwal, Mississippi State
Elem Ibiam, South Carolina
Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina
Jordan Jones, Texas A&M

Coach of the Year: Dawn Staley, South Carolina
Player of the Year: Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina
Freshman of the Year: Alaina Coats, South Carolina
Co-Defensive Players of the Year: Martha Alwal, Mississippi State / Jordan Jones, Texas A&M
Co-6th Players of the Year: Jennifer O’Neill, Kentucky / Alaina Coates, South Carolina
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Lianna Doty, Missouri

UP NEXT: Auburn will head to the SEC Tournament as the No. 6-seed and face the winner of the No. 11 Arkansas vs. No. 14 Ole Miss game. Game time is set for 7:30 p.m. CT/8:30 p.m. ET on Thursday, March 6 at the Gwinnett Center in Duluth, Ga. For more information about the SEC Tournament, visit the championships page on SECDigitalNetwork.com.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus