Troy Inducts Eight into Troy University Sports Hall of Fame

By  | 

TROY, Ala. – Eight former student-athletes and coaches were inducted into the Troy University Sports Hall of Fame on Saturday night at the Second Annual Induction Ceremony and Banquet in Trojan Arena.

The eight-member class included John “Doc” Anderson (track & field/cross country; administration), John Archer (men's basketball), Bobby Enslen (football), Chan Gailey (football), Danny Grant (football), Joyce Sorrell (women's basketball; administration), Willie Tullis (football) and Lawrence Tynes (football).

The sold-out event featured comments from Troy University Chancellor Dr. Jack Hawkins, Jr., Andalusia Mayor Earl Johnson, President pro tempore of the Troy University Board of Trustees Gerald O. Dial and Troy Director of Athletics John Hartwell.

The inductees began their evening with a private viewing of the Troy University Sports Hall of Fame digital displays located adjacent to the rotunda in Trojan Arena. Following a reception, the inductees were enshrined into Troy history forever during the induction ceremony and banquet.

Trojan Arena's two 767-square foot video boards played video tributes for each of the eight inductees that included comments from either the inductee or their representative.

The eight-member class combined for 596 wins at Troy while serving the University for nearly 90 years. They also combined for 24 conference championships, 137 all-conference selections, 50 all-america selections, 10 school record, 32 years of professional experience and 13 coach of the year awards.

Nominees for the 2014 induction class are being accepted until October 15 and can be made online at

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus