Sun Belt Conference welcomes new members, says goodbye to others

By  | 

By Tommy Hicks |

The Sun Belt Conference is officially smaller today. At least for the moment.

Monday, North Texas, Middle Tennessee, Florida Atlantic and Florida International officially left the conference to join Conference USA and the Sun Belt officially welcomed in Texas State, Georgia State and Texas-Arlington.

Western Kentucky is one year away from joining the four departing schools in C-USA and the Sun Belt is a year away from welcoming Idaho and New Mexico State as football-only members and Georgia Southern and Appalachian State as new members in the league. Georgia Southern and Appalachian State have to complete a two-year transition from Football Championship Subdivision status to Football Bowl Subdivision membership.

For more on this article visit:

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus