Sun Belt Conference kicks off its 2013 football season with media day in New Orleans Monday

By  | 

By Tommy Hicks |

The Sun Belt Conference will kick off its upcoming football season Monday with its annual Football Media Day in New Orleans. The league and its football-playing teams - current and future - will gather at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome to talk with members of the media about the upcoming season.

This season, eight teams will play for the Sun Belt Conference crown - returning teams Troy, Western Kentucky, Louisiana-Lafayette, Louisiana-Monroe and defending champion Arkansas State, as well as South Alabama, which played a league schedule last year but wasn't eligible to win the crown as it completed its transition to Football Bowl Subdivision status.

Joining the fold this year and rounding out the football-playing roster will be Georgia State (from the Colonial Athletic Association) and Texas State (from the Western Athletic Conference).

The league lost North Texas, Florida International, Florida Atlantic and Middle Tennessee, all of which have joined Conference USA and will compete in that league this season.

For more of this article visit:

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus