North-South Basketball Teams Announced

By  | 

MONTGOMERY – A total of 60 outstanding junior student-athletes from across the state have been named to the 2013 North-South Boys and Girls Basketball All-Star squads for the 17th annual Alabama All-Star Sports Week competition scheduled here July 15-20. Alvin Briggs, Director of the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association (AHSADCA) made the announcement Wednesday.

Sports Week, which also includes in-state all-star games in soccer, volleyball, baseball, softball and football, will also feature the Summer Conference with clinics and professional development sessions for coaches, principals, athletic directors, cheerleader coaches and officials.

Also, an All-Sports Equipment Expo and other related activities are scheduled throughout the week. Two of the highlights will be the Sportsmanship Banquet, which honors all schools that have not had an ejection or fine during the 2012-13 school year, and the Championship Coaches Awards Banquet, which honors the 2012-13 Making A Difference Award winners.

Coaching the North boys all-stars will be Rodney Chatman of Center Point and Heath Burns of Parrish. The administrative coach is Brant Llewellyn of Lauderdale County.

Coaches for the South boys are Jeffery Pope of Blount and Mark Dukes of Wilcox Central. Nigel Card of Saint James is the administrative coach.

The North girls’ all-star coaching staff includes Amber Deline of Oneonta and Jason Shields of Hokes Bluff. South coaches include Andrew Kilcrease of Brantley and Michelle Simmons of Carver-Montgomery. Llewellyn and Card will also serve as girls’ administrative coaches.

Headlining the North boys’ roster is Isaac Haas, a 7-foot-2 center at Hokes Bluff. He is the tallest player named to the squad in the 16-year history of All-Star Sports Week. He is joined by 6-8 LaBarrius Hill of Parrish, Albertville 6-7 shooting guard Riley Norris, and 5-10 point guard Justin Coleman of Wenonah, the 2013 Class 5A state tournament MVP.

The South squad lists five players 6-6 or taller, including 6-8 center William Lee of Dallas County, one of the most prolific shot blockers in AHSAA history. McGill-Toolen’s T.J. Lang, Cottage Hill Christian’s Matthew Scelsi, and Carver-Montgomery bookend forwards Demetrius Houston and Brandon Murphy all stand 6-6. Luverne forward DeAnthony Rutledge is 6-5.

The South girls roster features two players from 2013 Class 1A state champion Brantley, Raven Davis and Peyton Hill. The North squad lists three 2013 Final 48 MVPs – Leah Strain of Class 2A state champion Woodland, Destiney Elliott of Class 4A champ Oneonta and Chatara Cox of Class 3A state champion Lauderdale County. Also on the squad is Riley Northway of Brewer, a 6-1 forward who earned MVP honors in 2012 after leading Brewer to the 5A state title.

The North swept last year’s competition at Alabama State University’s Dunn-Oliver Acadome with the boys winning 65-57 and the girls squeaking out a 68-67 overtime win. The North leads the boys’ series 44-25 dating back to the first contest in 1953 and the girls’ series 14-2. This summer’s games will be played once again at the Acadome July 17.

The AHSADCA operates under the auspices of the Alabama High School Athletic Association. Membership includes coaches of all AHSAA sports as well as administrators of member schools.

The rosters:



Player School Pos. Ht.

Morgan William Shades Valley G 5'7

Leah Strain Woodland PG 5'4

Quanetria Bolton Anniston PF/C 6'2

Dajia Williams Gadsden City C 6'3

Jasmine Richardson Winterboro G/F 5'8

Kasey Sparks Red Bay PF/C 5'10

Sierra Jones Madison Academy PG 5'10

Destiney Elliott Oneonta F 5'11

Chandler Elder Bob Jones G/F 5'8

Maiya Rumph Sparkman G/F 5'9

Alexis Jennings Sparkman PF/C 6'1

Riley Northway Brewer PF/C 6'1

Chatara Cox Lauderdale County F 5'9

Jameka Holmes Wennonah G 5'9

Shakayla Thomas Sylacauga G 6'0


Amber Deline Oneonta

Jason Shields Hokes Bluff

Brant Llewellyn (adm.) Lauderdale Co.


Player School Pos. Ht.

Whytney Singleton Blount F 5'8

Tyler Phelion Murphy F 6'1

Raven Davis Brantley G 5'7

Peyton Hill Brantley G 5'8

Jewel Hill Saint Luke's G 5'9

Brenna Porter Selma P 5'11

Olivia Royal Elmore County G 5'6

Jimecheia Banks Central - Phenix City G 5'6

Kamerian Williams Opelika P 5'11

Kendall Adams Opelika F 5'10

Laporsche Grissett Blount G 5'7

Amber Jackson Davidson F 5'8

Kendra Fowler Carver - Montgomery G 5'7

Keyuana Thompson Carver - Montgomery G 5'6

Laiken Free Opp G 5'9


Andrew Kilcrease Brantley

Michelle Simmons Carver - Montgomery

Nigel Card (adm.) Saint James



Player School Pos Ht. Wt.

LaBarrius Hill Parrish G 6'8 205

Justin Coleman Wenonah PG 5'10 150

Cortlin Davis Shades Valley G 6'3 170

Mitchell Baldwin Vestavia Hills C 6'3 192

Quamauri Hardy Hoover G 6'0 160

Dylan Mackey Sand Rock G 6'3 180

Chris English Weaver G 5'10 165

Isaac Haas Hokes Bluff C 7'2 270

Lionel Love J. O. Johnson G 6'3 180

Nathanial Potts Athens G 6'1 210

Jordan Gandy East Limestone G 6'4 185

Riley Norris Albertville F 6'7 185

Lewis Sullivan Hazel Green G 6'7 220

Montego Hoskins Center Point SF 6'2 180

Jordan Harris James Clemens G 6'4 170


Rodney Chatman Center Point

Heath Burns Parrish

Brant Llewellyn (adm.) Lauderdale Co.


Player School Pos. Ht. Wt.

Matthew Scelsi Cottage Hill Christian PF 6'6 190

Greg White Saint Paul's SG 5'10 185

T.J. Lang McGill-Toolen SF 6'6 190

Wesley Person, Jr. Brantley SG 6'2 180

DeAnthony Rutledge Luverne PF 6'5 220

Jaylin Robinson Eufaula PG 6'1 170

William Lee Dallas County C 6'8 205

Steven Rogers Brewbaker Tech SG 6'0 155

Keshawn Ford Selma PG 5'9 150

Michael Hardin Smiths Station SF 6'4 195

Devin Pugh Central - Phenix City SG 6'1 175

Divine Myles Blount PG 6'0 185

Andrew Rogers Saint Jude PF 6'4 195

Demetrius Houston Carver - Montgomery SF 6'6 200

Brandon Murphy Carver - Montgomery C/F 6'6 260


Jeffery Pope Blount

Mark Dukes Wilcox - Central

Nigel Card (adm.) Saint James

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus