Nick Saban to be Inducted into Alabama Sports Hall of Fame

By  | 

BIRMINGHAM – The current University of Alabama Head Football Coach Nick Saban, will be one of eight to be inducted into the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame on Saturday, May 18, 2013.

A native of Fairmont, WV, Saban has been the head coach for college and NFL teams with Toledo, Michigan State, LSU, Miami Dolphins, and most recently and successfully with University of Alabama. He has won three BCS Nations Championships at Alabama (2009, 2011, 2012), and one at LSU (2003). He is the first coach in college history to win a National Championship with two different football subdivision schools. He and Coach Paul “Bear” Bryant are the only coaches to win SEC Championships at two different schools. He has won many National Coach of the Year awards including, two A.P. National Coach of the Year awards (2003 and 2008), one Paul “Bear” Bryant Award (2003), three Bobby Bowden National Collegiate Coach of the Year awards (2009, 2011, 2012) and three SEC Coach of the Year awards (2003, 2008, 2009).

Other members of the ASHOF Class of 2013 include: Ronnie Baynes (football official), Forrest Blue (football) posthumously, Eric Davis (football), Bill Jones (basketball) posthumously, Bill Oliver (football), Vickie Orr (basketball), and Dannette Young Stone (track and field).

For ticket information to the May18th Induction Banquet at the Sheraton Birmingham Hotel, call the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame at 205-323-6665.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus