Gus Malzahn semifinalist for Maxwell coach of year

By  | 

AUBURN, Ala. – Gus Malzahn’s first year as Auburn’s head coach is making headlines with a turnaround season and a 10-1 record.

Award committees are taking notice.

Malzahn was named a semifinalist for national coach of the year Wednesday by the Maxwell Football Club. He’s one of 16 coaches on the list. The winner will be announced Dec. 17.

Auburn’s next game will feature two of the Maxwell semifinalists: Malzahn and Alabama’s Nick Saban. The Iron Bowl is Nov. 30 in Jordan-Hare Stadium with the winning team claiming the SEC West championship.

Maxwell Football Club Coach of the Year semifinalists

Gus Malzahn, Auburn
Nick Saban, Alabama
Art Briles, Baylor
Steve Addazio, Boston College
Dabo Swinney, Clemson
David Cutcliffe, Duke
Tim DeRuyter, Fresno State
Jimbo Fisher, Florida State
Mark Dantonio, Michigan State
Gary Pinkel, Missouri
Rod Carey, Northern Illinois
Urban Meyer, Ohio State
Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State
George O’Leary, Central Florida
Ed Orgeron, Southern California
Gary Andrersen, Wisconsin

Auburn has had two national coach of the year winners: Tommy Tuberville and Gene Chizik.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus