Doug Nussmeier nominated for Broyles Award

By  | 

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) -- The nominees are out for the 2013 Broyles Award, which honors the top assistant coach in college football.

Among the 40 assistants on the list are offensive coordinators from No. 1 Alabama, Doug Nussmeier, and No. 4 Auburn, Rhett Lashlee. Those teams play Saturday in the Iron Bowl.

Nominated defensive coordinators include Jerry Pruitt of No. 2 Florida State and Glenn Spencer of No. 7 Oklahoma State.

Offensive coordinators Tom Herman of No. 3 Ohio State, Josh Henson of No. 5 Missouri and Chad Morris of No. 6 Clemson are also nominated.

The award by the Rotary Club of Little Rock is to be given in a Dec. 10 ceremony. The honor is named for former Arkansas coach Frank Broyles, who was known for having quality assistant coaches.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus