Baseball Teams Named For 2014 All-Star Sports Week

By  | 

*AHSAA Press Release*

The 2014 North-South all-star baseball teams for the 18th annual Alabama All-Star Sports Week competition were announced Monday by Alvin Briggs, Director of the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association (AHSADCA).

The two teams, comprised of current junior student-athletes from across the state, will play in Montgomery Tuesday, July 22.

All-Star Sports Week, set for July 21-25, also includes in-state all-star games in soccer, volleyball, softball, basketball and football, in addition to the AHSAA Summer Conference with clinics and professional development sessions for coaches, principals, athletic directors, cheer coaches and contest officials.

Also, an All-Sports Equipment Expo and other related activities are scheduled throughout the week. Two of the highlights will be the Sportsmanship Banquet, which will honor all schools that do not have an ejection or fine during the 2013-14 school year, and the Championship Coaches Awards Banquet, which will recognize coaches whose teams win a state championship in the 2013-14 school year. That banquet will also honor the 2014 Making A Difference Award winners.

Coaches for the North All-Stars are Lee Gann of Mountain Brook, Morris Phillips of Fayetteville, Kellen Greer of Sparkman and Rick Davis of Hoover.

The South All-Stars will be coached by Coy Campbell of W.S. Neal, Lee Hyde of Wicksburg, John Gluschick of Montgomery Academy and Billy Jones of Opelika. Coach Ken Whittle of Trinity Presbyterian will serve as administrative coach for South squad and Keith Lucky of St. James for the North.

The North swept last year’s doubleheader 6-0 and 13-5 to improve its series lead to 17-10-1. The series began in 1997.

The AHSADCA operates under the auspices of the Alabama High School Athletic Association (AHSAA). Membership includes coaches of all AHSAA sports as well as administrators of member schools.

The rosters:


Player School Pos. Ht. Wt.

Andrew Autrey Mountain Brook SS 5'11 175

Matthew Calvert Clay-Chalkville P/OF 6'1 210

Dalton Cobb Alexandria SS/3B 5'9 175

Richard Davis Hoover C/3B 5'10 195

Samuel Davis Huntsville P/1B 6'3 205

Devante Dixon Cedar Bluff OF/SS 6'0 175

Will Green Sylacauga 1B/P 6'2 190

Carter Jacobs Vestavia Hills P 6'0 170

Zach Lightsey Childersburg P/SS 6'2 195

Joseph McCormick Oak Mountain OF 5'11 170

Jack McPherson Mountain Brook C 5'11 180

Casey Mize Springville P 6'2 170

Carter Pharis Hewitt-Trussville SS 6'1 185

Stephan Poplin Thompson P 6'2 190

Will Sipes Sparkman 2B/3B 5'11 150

Adam Stewart Homewood P/3B 6'0 165

Peyton Stracener Colbert County P/SS 5'11 200

Luke Wall Oneonta OF 6'0 205


Lee Gann Mountain Brook

Morris Phillips Fayetteville

Kellen Greer Sparkman

Rick Davis Hoover

Keith Lucky Saint James - Admin.


Player School Pos. Ht. Wt.

Reid Agrelia Dothan C/P 6'0 235

Brandon Baynes Tallassee OF 5'9 187

Matthew Christian Opelika 1B/P 6'2 195

Chandler Crutcher Baker OF 6'2 200

Troy Dixon UMS-Wright SS/2B 5'10 192

Brendan Donovan Enterprise 3B/SS 5'11 195

Samuel Harrison Headland IF/P 6'1 175

Seth Hendon Benjamin Russell C/OF 5'9 165

Gunner Hendrix Spanish Fort 3B/P 5'11 175

Trace Johnston Trinity Presbyterian 3B/OF 6'0 180

Trevor McKinley Dadeville P/OF 6'1 155

Jared Nixon Marbury OF/P 6'0 170

Austin Odom Luverne 3B/P 6'1 190

Brett Patterson UMS-Wright P/1B 6'2 220

Michael Phillips Saint Luke's SS/2B 6'2 175

Dylan Sexton Stanhope Elmore SS/2B 5'9 160

Chase Smartt Charles Henderson C 5'11 185

Michael Walls Elmore County SS 6'0 165


Coy Campbell W.S. Neal
Lee Hyde Wicksburg
John Gluschick Montgomery Academy
Billy Jones Opelika
Ken Whittle Trinity - Admin.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus