Alabama's Barrett Jones Wins Campbell Trophy

By  | 

NEW YORK, December 4, 2012 - University of Alabama center Barrett Jones has been named the 23rd recipient of the William V. Campbell Trophy, endowed by HealthSouth, at the 55th National Football Foundation Annual Awards Dinner in New York City tonight.

"Barrett is perhaps one of the greatest scholar-athletes to have ever played the game, and we are so proud to honor him tonight," said NFF President & CEO Steven J. Hatchell. "The 2012 NFF National Scholar-Athlete class is one of the best ever, and for Barrett to stand above them all really says a lot about his accomplishments. He has a perfect 4.0 GPA and an All-American football career while still significantly giving back to the community - he was the clear choice as the best scholar-athlete in college football."

The Campbell Trophy is one of college football's most sought after and competitive awards, recognizing an individual as the absolute best in the country for his combined academic success, football performance and exemplary community leadership. The award comes with a 24-inch, 25-pound bronze trophy and a $25,000 postgraduate scholarship. A total of $300,000 was awarded to Jones and the 14 other members of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, presented by Fidelity Investments, who comprised the list of Campbell Trophy finalists. Each member of the class claimed an $18,000 scholarship for their post-graduate educations.

"Barrett and his fellow members of the 2012 National Scholar-Athlete Class represent all that is right about college football," said NFF Chairman Archie Manning, whose sons Peyton (Campbell winner) and Eli were NFF National Scholar-Athletes in 1997 and 2003, respectively. "The members of this class are more than just the incredible talent you see on the field; their intelligence, leadership, and commitment to excellence will undoubtedly lead to success in whatever careers they choose to pursue in the future."

Jones is the only three-time Academic All-America in the history of Alabama football and is on pace to be honored for a fourth time this year. The 4.0 student and 2011 SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year is a member of the University Honors Program and is a four-time SEC Honor Roll member. Inducted into eight different honoraries, the accounting major is a three-time recipient of the Commitment to Academic Excellence Award and the 2012 Paul W. Bryant Student-Athlete of the Year.

Jones was a unanimous First Team All-America performer as a junior en route to being named the Outland Trophy winner and the recipient of the Jacobs Blocking Trophy as the SEC's Lineman of the Year. A starter on two national championship teams, he has switched positions on the offensive line every year, spending time at guard, tackle, and now center. He is a two-time First Team All-SEC honoree, who earned Third Team All-America honors as a sophomore and Freshman All-America accolades in 2009. As a senior, Jones recently earned his second nod on the FWAA All-American list and is a finalist for the Lombardi, Rimington and again for the Outland Trophy. Jones will guide No. 2 'Bama to its second BCS National Championship game appearance in as many years on Jan. 7, 2013.

The 2011 Wuerffel Trophy winner and member of the 2012 AFCA Good Works Team, Jones has participated in two mission trips to Haiti and one to Nicaragua, distributing food, working at schools and orphanages, and helping with construction projects. He is a member of Campus Crusade for Christ, the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, and he has served as a volunteer tutor at a local elementary school, and acted as a student mentor for the Dean of Students office.

Jones is Alabama's first Campbell Trophy winner and the school's sixth NFF National Scholar-Athlete, following Greg McElroy (2010), DeMeco Ryans (2005), Steadman Shealy (1979), Randall Hall (1974), and Johnny Musso (1971).

Launched in 1959, the NFF scholar-athlete program became the first initiative in history to award post graduate scholarships based on both a player's academic and athletic accomplishments, and the program has awarded $10.1 million to 771 top athletes since its inception. Candidates must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a grade point average of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.

The centerpiece to the NFF's scholar-athlete program, the Campbell Trophy was first awarded in 1990. It is named in honor of Bill Campbell, the chairman of Intuit, former player and head coach at Columbia University and the 2004 recipient of the NFF's Gold Medal.

The Past Recipients of the William V. Campbell Trophy

* Chris Howard (Air Force, 1990 - College President)
* Brad Culpepper (Florida, 1991 - Attorney)
* Jim Hansen (Colorado, 1992 - Leader in Climatological Research)
* Thomas Burns (Virginia, 1993 - Engineering Executive)
* Robert Zatechka (Nebraska, 1994 - Physician)
* Bobby Hoying (Ohio State, 1995 - Real Estate Executive)
* Danny Wuerffel (Florida, 1996 - Nonprofit Executive Director)
* Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997 - NFL Player)
* Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia, 1998 - Television Broadcaster & Insurance Executive)
* Chad Pennington (Marshall, 1999 - NFL Player)
* Kyle Vanden Bosch (Nebraska, 2000 - NFL Player)
* Joaquin Gonzalez (Miami, 2001 - Corporate Executive)
* Brandon Roberts (Washington University in St. Louis, 2002 - Physician)
* Craig Krenzel (Ohio State, 2003 - Insurance Executive)
* Michael Munoz (Tennessee, 2004 - Marketing Manager)
* Rudy Niswanger (Louisiana State University, 2005 - NFL Player)
* Brian Leonard (Rutgers University, 2006 - NFL Player)
* Dallas Griffin (University of Texas, 2007 - Corporate Finance Associate)
* Alex Mack (University of California, 2008 - NFL Player)
* Tim Tebow (University of Florida, 2009 - NFL Player)
* Sam Acho (University of Texas, 2010 - NFL Player)
* Andrew Rodriguez (United States Military Academy, 2011 - Second Lt., United States Army)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus