Alabama's AJ McCarron, T.J. Yeldon, C.J. Mosley, Amari Cooper make watch list for Maxwell Award

By  | 

By Andrew Gribble |

TUSCALOOSA, Alabama -- No school in the country has more players represented on the 2013 Maxwell Award watch list than Alabama.

Alabama's Big Three on offense -- quarterback AJ McCarron, running back T.J. Yeldon and wide receiver Amari Cooper -- and linebacker C.J. Mosley all made the cut. The Maxwell Award, named in honor of Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell, goes to college football's player of the year.

Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o won the award last season.

McCarron was a semifinalist for the award in 2012, as he finished his junior season with the nation's best passer efficiency, 2,933 yards, 30 touchdowns and just three interceptions. As the Crimson Tide's starter, McCarron is 25-2.

Yeldon and Cooper are two of the youngest players to make the cut. Yeldon, who split carries with Eddie Lacy in Alabama's backfield as a true freshman in 2012, racked up 1,262 yards of offense and 13 touchdowns while Cooper hauled in 59 passes for 1,000 yards and 11 touchdowns during his freshman campaign.

For more on this story visit:

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus