Alabama Headlines 2014 Pre-Season Media Day All-SEC Team

By  | 

HOOVER, Ala.-The 2014 pre-season Media Days All-SEC team was released today. Alabama has the most first-team selections this season with nine. Auburn has four on the first team.

Auburn quarterback Nick Marshall headlines the first-team offense. He's joined by Wide Receiver Sammie Coates and center Reese Dismukes.

Alabama running back T.J. Yeldon, wide receiver Amari Cooper and offensive lineman Arie Kouandjio represent the Tide on the first-team. Amari Cooper and T.J. Yeldon are two of the three top vote-getters this year. Georgia's Todd Gurley is the third.

Bama's A'Shawn Robinson, Trey DePriest and Landon Collins are on the first-team defense. Auburn's Gabe Wright is the lone Tiger.

Alabama's Christion Jones also made first-team for specialists.

The media also predicted the order of finish this season.

Alabama received the most votes to finish atop the SEC. Auburn ranks second, South Carolina ranks third. Georgia, LSU, Ole Miss, Arkansa sand Mississippi State round out the top eight.

South Carolina is predicted to win the Eastern Division. Alabama is predicted to win the West.

293 members of the media voted this year. That is an all-time high for SEC Media Days.

(Total points earned in parenthesis)

QB Nick Marshall, Auburn (241)
RB T.J. Yeldon, Alabama (281)
RB Todd Gurley, Georgia (280)
WR Amari Cooper, Alabama (282)
WR Sammie Coates, Auburn (207)
TE O.J. Howard, Alabama (188)
OL La'el Collins, LSU (231)
OL Arie Kouandjio, Alabama (188)
OL Laremy Tunsil, Ole Miss (183)
OL Cedric Ogbuehi, Texas A&M (174)
C Reese Dismukes, Auburn (226)

QB Dak Prescott, Mississippi State (118)
RB Mike Davis, South Carolina (240)
RB Alex Collins, Arkansas (126)
WR Laquon Treadwell, Ole Miss (182)
WR Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia (71)
TE C.J. Uzomah, Auburn (141)
OL A.J. Cann, South Carolina (166)
OL Vadal Alexander, LSU (112)
OL Alex Kozan, Auburn (112)
OL Corey Robinson, South Carolina (107)
C Ryan Kelly, Alabama (126)

QB Bo Wallace, Ole Miss (94)
RB Corey Grant, Auburn (52)
RB Keith Marshall, Georgia (44)
WR Jameon Lewis, Mississippi State (67)
WR Marquez North, Tennessee (66)
TE Hunter Henry, Arkansas (72)
OL Austin Shepherd, Alabama (106)
OL Chad Slade, Auburn (101)
OL John Theus, Georgia (96)
OL Chaz Green, Florida (94)
C Evan Boehm, Missouri (77)

DL Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss (239)
DL Dante Fowler, Jr., Florida (212)
DL A'Shawn Robinson, Alabama (208)
DL Gabe Wright, Auburn (192)
LB Trey DePriest, Alabama (253)
LB A.J. Johnson, Tennessee (186)
LB Ramik Wilson, Georgia (147)
DB Landon Collins, Alabama (274)
DB Vernon Hargreaves, III, Florida (243)
DB Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss (210)
DB Deshazor Everett, Texas A&M (183)

DL Trey Flowers, Arkansas (181)
DL Chris Jones, Mississippi State (150)
DL Alvin "Bud" Dupree, Kentucky (134)
DL Markus Golden, Missouri (125)
LB Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State (143)
LB Jordan Jenkins, Georgia (137)
LB Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss (116)
DB Robenson Therezie, Auburn (144)
DB Tre'Davious White, LSU (141)
DB Damian Swann, Georgia (127)
DB Tony Conner, Ole Miss (116)

DL Ray Drew, Georgia (102)
DL Montravius Adams, Auburn (94)
DL Carl Lawson, Auburn (87)
DL Jermauria Rasco, LSU (79)
LB Kwon Alexander, LSU (112)
LB Cassanova McKinzy, Auburn (82)
LB Serderius Bryant, Ole Miss (76)
DB Jon Mincy, Auburn (99)
DB Corey Thompson, LSU (86)
DB Rashard Robinson, LSU (84)
DB Brison Williams, South Carolina (81)

P Drew Kaser, Texas A&M (221)
PK Marshall Morgan, Georgia (224)
RS Christion Jones, Alabama (262)
AP Christion Jones, Alabama (130)

P Sam Irwin-Hill, Arkansas (136)
PK Colby Delahoussaye, LSU (142)
RS Andre Debose, Florida (97)
AP Terrence Magee, LSU (111)

P Jamie Keehn, LSU (81)
PK Andrew Baggett, Missouri (103)
RS Marcus Murphy, Missouri (72)
AP Trey Williams, Texas A&M (89)


School Points
Alabama 154
Auburn 75
South Carolina 32
Georgia 19
Ole Miss 2
Arkansas 1
Mississippi State 1

School Points
South Carolina 1895
Georgia 1777
Florida 1362
Missouri 1263
Tennessee 893
Vanderbilt 619
Kentucky 395

School Points
Alabama 1915
Auburn 1735
LSU 1453
Ole Miss 1069
Mississippi State 890
Texas A&M 791
Arkansas 351

* - Official attendance at 2014 SEC Media Days will be released later today.
* - 293 voters is an all-time high for SEC media days. The previous high was 243 in 2013.
* - The top vote-getters in 2014 were Amari Cooper (Alabama), T.J. Yeldon (Alabama) and Todd Gurley (Georgia). All three were voted to the preseason media team as well in 2013.
* - Since 2000, Arkansas’ Darren McFadden is the only unanimous selection to the SEC Media Days Team, collecting all 80 votes that year.
* - Alabama had the most first-team selections this season with nine. Since 1992, the most players on a first-team were also nine by Alabama in 2011 and eight by Alabama (2010) and Florida (2009).

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus