SEC names Ingram, Jackson athletes of year

By  | 

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (AP) - Alabama running back Mark Ingram and LSU
gymnast Susan Jackson have been named the Southeastern Conference's Roy F. Kramer Male and Female Athletes of the Year.

The winners were announced Tuesday and voted on by league
athletic directors.

SEC Commissioner Mike Slive said both "are fine representatives
for their universities and this conference."

Ingram became the first Crimson Tide player to win a Heisman
Trophy and helped lead the team to a national title. He set
Alabama's single-season rushing mark with 1,658 yards.

Jackson became the first LSU gymnast to win the NCAA all-around
title, and also was the national champion on the balance beam. She
was the first LSU gymnast to win the Honda Sports Award for

(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)