Trojans Picked for All-Sun Belt Team

By  | 

NEW ORLEANS – Troy’s Brandon Hazzard was named to the All-Sun Belt first team, while fellow senior Michael Vogler earned a second team nod as announced by the conference office today.

The first team honor is the second for Hazzard. He was also named to the first team following last season. Vogler was a third team honoree a season ago. Both players were named to the preseason all-conference team.

The teams are voted on by league media and its coaches.

Hazzard finished the regular season third in the league in scoring (16.5 ppg). He was also second in 3-pointers made with 72. He became a 1,000 point scorer for his collegiate career this season.

“I don’t think we have ever had a player here at Troy be named first team all-conference two years in a row,” Troy head coach Don Maestri said. “To be back-to-back first team all-Sun Belt Conference is a phenomenal achievement for Brandon. We are obviously very proud of him.

“It’s a true testament to how hard he worked over the summer. It is a great honor one time, but the second time its even more of an honor because he could have rested on his laurels after the first, but he didn’t. He worked even harder.”

Vogler is Troy’s division I assist leader with 452. He ranks second in the league with 162 assists this season and first with 57 steals.

“Michael Vogler has also made back-to-back all-conference teams,” Maestri said. “This year he made an even higher team than last year. The achievement for him is remarkable.

“There is no doubt in my mind or in the minds of any of the fans that watched him play over the last three seasons that Vogler is one of the best point guards in Troy basketball history.”

Troy was one of four schools to have multiple players named to the all-conference teams. The Trojans will be in action next on Sunday in the second round of the Sun Belt Conference tournament in Hot Springs, Ark.

For information on how to purchase tickets to the Sun Belt Conference Tournament, and how to sit behind the Troy University bench, contact the Troy University Athletics Office at 1-877-878-WINS (9467). Or purchase your tickets online at

2010 All-Sun Belt teams and awards

Nate Rohnert (Denver, SR, G/F)
Tyren Johnson (Louisiana-Lafayette, SR, F)
Desmond Yates (Middle Tennessee, SR, F)
Brandon Hazzard (Troy, SR, G)
AJ Slaughter (WKU, SR, G)

Brandon Reed (Arkansas State, FR, G)
George Odufuwa (North Texas, JR, F)
Tim Williams (South Alabama, JR, G)
Michael Vogler (Troy, SR, G)
Steffphon Pettigrew (WKU, JR, F)

Greg Gantt (Florida Atlantic, FR, G)
Ray Taylor (Florida Atlantic, FR, G)
Tristan Thompson (North Texas, JR, G)
Eric Tramiel (North Texas, SR, F)
Josh White (North Texas, JR, G)

Tyren Johnson (Louisiana-Lafayette, SR, F)

Brett Royster (Florida Atlantic, JR, F)

Brandon Reed (Arkansas State, FR, G)

John Brady, Arkansas State