Suh scores one for the D, wins AP Player of Year

By  | 

NEW YORK (AP) - Nebraska's Ndamukong Suh is the first defensive player to be voted The Associated Press College Football Player of the Year.

Suh finished the season with one of the great performances of
the year, getting 4½ sacks as the Cornhuskers nearly upset No. 2
Texas in the Big 12 title game.

He received 26 of a possible 59 votes from AP college football
poll voters to edge Stanford running back Toby Gerhart, who
received 20 votes.

Heisman Trophy winner Mark Ingram finished tied for third with
Texas quarterback Colt McCoy, each getting six votes. Florida's Tim
Tebow received one vote.

Since the AP started handing out a player of the year award in
1998, all the winners have been quarterbacks or running backs.