NASCAR's Johnson wins male athlete of the year

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (AP) - NASCAR driver Jimmie Johnson has been picked as the Male Athlete of the Year by members of The Associated Press.

Editors at newspapers which are members of the AP selected
Johnson after he captured an unprecedented fourth straight
championship in NASCAR's premier series.

He received 42 votes to beat tennis star Roger Federer and Olympic sprinter Usain Bolt, who were the only other two athletes to receive vote totals in the double-digits.

Albert Pujols, Kobe Bryant and Tiger Woods, who was named
athlete of the decade last week, each received nine votes.

Johnson won seven races this season, including four in the Chase
for the Sprint Cup championship, to coast to his fourth title.

He's the first race car driver to win the AP honor.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus