Castroneves Wins 3rd Indy 500

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) - Helio Castroneves has won his third
Indianapolis 500, beating 2005 winner Dan Wheldon by more than 2
seconds. Danica Patrick was third, the best finish by a woman at

Castroneves, who started from the pole, had a half-second lead over teammate Ryan Briscoe before a hard crash by Vitor Meira and rookie Raphael Matos brought out the yellow caution with 26 laps to go. Briscoe had to come in for fuel, moving Wheldon up to second and Patrick third.

The green came out after 183 of the 200 laps, and Castroneves began pulling away for good.