Bonner, Fortner sweep AP All-SEC women's awards

By  | 

ATLANTA (AP) - DeWanna Bonner is a unanimous choice as player of
the year on The Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference team
after leading the Tigers to their first league championship in 20
years and a No. 2 seed in the NCAA tournament.

That wasn't the only award claimed by Auburn on Tuesday. Nell
Fortner was an overwhelming pick for coach of the year, adding an
SEC title to a list of accomplishments that already included a Big
Ten championship at Purdue and an Olympic gold medal at the 2000
Sydney Games.

Arkansas freshman Ceira Ricketts was named newcomer of the year.

Bonner was joined on the first team by teammate Whitney Boddie,
Vanderbilt's Christian Wirth, LSU's Allison Hightower and Florida's
Sha Brooks.