Bradford Named AP Player of the Year

NORMAN, Okla. (AP) - Sam Bradford is The Associated Press college football player of the year.

The Heisman Trophy winner from Oklahoma outpointed two other
quarterbacks - Colt McCoy of Texas and Tim Tebow of Florida.

Bradford received 27 votes Monday from the AP media panel that votes in the weekly poll. McCoy finished second with 17 votes. Tebow won last year and had 16 votes this time. Texas Tech receiver Michael Crabtree had two votes.

Bradford is the third Oklahoma player to win the AP award, which began in 1998. The others were Josh Heupel and Jason White.

Bradford will lead No. 2 Oklahoma against Tebow and No. 1 Florida in the BCS title game Jan. 8 in Miami.