Alabama's Thompson finalist for Hogan Award

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. (AP) - University of Alabama golfer Michael Thompson is one of three finalists for the Ben Hogan Award.

The award is presented annually to the top college golfer. The other finalists announced Wednesday are Oklahoma State's Rickie Fowler and Southern California's Jamie Lovemark.

The winner will be named May 18th.

Alabama has produced one Hogan Award winner. Marten Olander won it in 1993, his senior season with the Crimson Tide.

Thompson advanced to the U.S. Amateur final last August, won the Southeastern Conference championship and earned SEC Golfer of the
Year honors. He also competed in the Masters as an amateur in March.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)