Saban nominated for award

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. (AP) - Alabama coach Nick Saban is one of 16 semifinalists for the Paul W. Bryant College Football Coach of the Year Award.

Saban won the award named after the late Tide coach in 2003 after leading LSU to a 13-1 record and the BCS National Championship.

Gene Stallings is the only Alabama coach to win the award. He received it after the Tide's national championship season in 1992.

The selection committee is comprised of current and past event chairmen, Bryant family representatives, National Sportscasters & Sportswriters Association representatives and former college players and coaches.

The finalists will be announced by former Tide and NFL quarterback Kenny Stabler in Houston on December 12th. The winner will be announced on January 17th.