WTVY  | Dothan, AL  | News, Weather, Sports

Wicksburg Looks to Break into Playoffs in 2012

The Wicksburg Football Team has spent the entire off-season wondering what might have been. The Panthers started last season 4-0, before losing five of their last six games and missing the playoffs.

Wicksburg went 5-5 with a veteran squad, including 13 seniors. Now, the Panthers are in rebuilding mode, as they prepare for the 2012 season.

Head Coach Donny Gillilan says players like Austin Sellers at quarterback and Jerod Maddox at defensive end will have to anchor his young team, especially early in the season.

But, he believes his young squad cam come together and make some noise this year.

"The feeling is good," Gillilan said. "We're very optimistic and encouraged by our kids. We'll be playing a lot of young kids, and that's always exciting.

"You spend all of your time here trying to get the point across that they can play and contribute, so you're anxious to see what they can do."

Wicksburg opens the regular season on the road, visiting rival Geneva County on Friday night.

Wicksburg 2012 Schedule

Date Opponent Score

Fri., Aug. 31 @ Geneva County (1A)
Fri., Sep. 7 vs. Providence Christian (2A) *
Fri., Sep. 14 @ Houston County (2A) *
Fri., Sep. 21 vs. Cottonwood (2A) *
Fri., Sep. 28 @ Slocomb (3A)
Fri., Oct. 5 vs. G.W. Long (2A) *
Fri., Oct. 12 @ Ariton (2A) *
Fri., Oct. 19 vs. Houston Academy (2A) *
Fri., Oct. 26 @ Samson (2A) *
Thu., Nov. 1 vs. Geneva (3A)

* denotes region game


Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 167716715