Providence Christian Entering Uncharted Waters with New Coach

Emory Latta started the Providence Christian Football Program from scratch nearly a decade ago. But, after last season, Latta decided someone else needed to continue building the Eagles program.

Latta resigned during the off-season, with longtime assistant Kenny Keith taking over as head coach. Keith inherits a team coming off three straight playoff appearances.

And, Providence Christian returns several key starters, including quarterback Andrew Gwin and running backs Spencer Walker and Kyle Eriksen.

So, the team has it's eye on a region title as the season approaches.

"We've got 15 seniors, so I've known them all for the past four years," Keith said. "I guess you could probably say we've got a veteran team. If we had to, we could probably go out and play a game right now. I don't know how good we'd be, but if we went out and played one, they would at least know what we were doing. That helps me a lot."

Providence Christian opens the regular season on August 31st, hosting New Brockton.

Providence Christian 2012 Schedule

Date Opponent Score

Fri., Aug. 31 vs. New Brockton (2A)
Fri., Sep. 7 @ Wicksburg (2A) *
Fri., Sep. 14 @ Cottonwood (2A) *
Fri., Sep. 21 vs. G.W. Long (2A) *
Fri., Sep. 28 @ Geneva County (1A)
Fri., Oct. 5 vs. Samson (2A) *
Fri., Oct. 12 @ Houston County (2A) *
Fri., Oct. 19 vs. Ariton (2A) *
Fri., Oct. 26 @ Houston Academy (2A) *
Fri., Nov. 2 OPEN

* denotes region game


Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 166363496 - wtvy.com/a?a=166363496
Gray Television, Inc.