Australia: New Prime Minister Sworn In

By: RTV/ABC (Australia)/CBS
By: RTV/ABC (Australia)/CBS

FILE - In this Sept. 7, 2013 file photo, Australian opposition leader Tony Abbott arrives on stage to deliver his victory speech in Australia's national election in Sydney. Prime Minister-elect Abbott has rekindled the sexism accusations that have dogged his political career by naming only one woman - Foreign Minister Julie Bishop - to the 19-member Cabinet that will be sworn into government Wednesday, Sept. 18, 2013. (AP Photo/Rob Griffith, Pool, File)

Australia's new Conservative Prime Minister Tony Abbott was sworn in at a ceremony in Canberra on Wednesday (September 18) morning, 11 days after elections that swept his Liberal National Coalition to power.

Abbott took an oath of allegiance to Queen Elizabeth II before Australia's Governor-General Quentin Bryce at Government House in Canberra with his wife and daughters.

At a second ceremony, 42 ministers, assistant ministers and parliamentary secretaries were also sworn in.

Abbott pledged that his new government would serve all the people of Australia and repeated his election commitment 'to scrap carbon tax, stop the boats and get the budget under control'.

"We will be a problem solving government based on values not ideology. We will strive to govern for all Australians, including those who didn't vote for us. We won't forget those who are often marginalised: people with disabilities, indigenous people and women struggling to combine career and family. We will do our best not to leave anyone behind," he said.

Counting is still underway but the coalition government is expected to take at least 90 seats in the 150-seat parliament.

Abbott has already come in for criticism for appointing a 19-person cabinet with only one woman member, Foreign Minister Julie Bishop.

Abbott immediately began work after the swearing-in ceremony, attending an executive council meeting with the Governor-General.

WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 224191221 -
Gray Television, Inc.