New School Program Coming to 10 Districts

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press
More Video...

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) -- The state Department of Education is working with 10 pilot school systems to address barriers to learning and teaching and to re-engage disconnected students.

Department officials joined city and county superintendents Friday to present the Comprehensive System of Learning Supports design documents.

The director of the department's Office of Learning Support, Linda Felton-Smith, says the support system was designed by Alabamians. She said it moves student supports away from reacting to problems and moves them toward a system emphasizing prevention and early intervention. It will address issues ranging from hunger to bullying.

Ten school districts will implement the design this fall. They are Bessemer, Chickasaw, Etowah County, Butler County, Decatur, Perry County, Calhoun County, Dothan, Shelby County, and Lauderdale County. It will expand statewide within three to five years.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 218102081 -
Gray Television, Inc.