AG Strange Announces Winners of 2013 Safe Schools Initiative Awards of Excellence

By: Press Release
By: Press Release

(MONTGOMERY)—In April, Attorney General Strange announced that he is re-instituting the Attorney General’s Safe Schools Initiative with a new emphasis on encouraging technological advances to deal with the challenges experienced by today’s schools and students.

Nominations were received between April and June, and in August a panel of judges reviewed the nominations to determine a winner from each of the eight state school board districts.

“Ensuring safe schools for our students has never been more important,” said Attorney General Strange. “Special emphasis is being placed on the use of technology to ensure that our schools are safe. Every school who submitted a nomination will receive feedback from our panel of judges on how to enhance their school safety plan.”

The Attorney General’s Office, in coordination with the State Departments of Education and Public Safety, the Alabama Criminal Justice Information Center, the State Fire Marshal’s Office, and the Alabama Association of School Resource Officers will be releasing the “Alabama Safe School Initiative: Best Practices” list.

“I took great pride in personally acting as a judge for the Safe School Awards, and I saw a lot of good things happening in Alabama’s schools. I believe that this is the perfect opportunity to share information on the newest and best practices being used in school safety,” said State Superintendent of Education Dr. Thomas R. Bice.

Attorney General Strange expressed special thanks to the Alabama Farmers Federation and Alfa Insurance for their continued support of the Alabama Safe Schools Initiative. Awards will be personally presented this fall to the eight winning schools by Attorney General Strange.

Below is a list of the eight recipients of a 2013 Attorney General’s Safe School Initiative Award of Excellence for each State School Board district:

District 1, Orange Beach Elementary, Orange Beach
District 2, Pleasant Home School, Andalusia
District 3, Redland Elementary School, Wetumpka
District 4, Homewood High School, Homewood
District 5, Blountsville Elementary School, Blount County
District 6, Eastwood Elementary School, Decatur
District 7, Leeds High School – Jefferson County
District 8, Challenger Middle School, Madison

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 220205341 -
Gray Television, Inc.