Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy's New Seasons to Premiere September 16th

The newest seasons of the long-running syndicated versions of Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy! are set to premiere on Monday all across the United States.

Wheel of Fortune begins its 31st syndicated season on the 16th. The gameshow, which involves players competing with each other to solve word puzzles and reveal letters in those puzzles with spins of a giant wheel, begins its first week with a set of five episodes filmed in Las Vegas.

The major change this season comes in the form of the Express Wedge, which will replace the Jackpot Wedge. If a contestant lands on the Express Wedge, the player calls a letter and earns $1000 per letter. If a player gets that letter and passes, everything proceeds normally. If they continue to play, however, the player must continue guessing consonants until they solve the puzzle. If a wrong letter is called after continuing to play, they go Bankrupt.

Wheel of Fortune has been in syndication since the early 80s with Pat Sajak, but dates back even further to the 1975 daytime network originally hosted by Chuck Woolery. That daytime version went through multiple hosts before ending in 1991.

Jeopardy, the enduring quiz show of answers and questions, also returns for a new season in syndication hosted by Alex Trebek. During its thirtieth season, the show will feature a Battle of the Decades tournament which will bring back top contestants from all decades of the syndicated version of the show. The series will also feature a revamped set.

Jeopardy originated as a quiz show, previously hosted by Art Fleming.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 223867961 - wtvy.com/a?a=223867961
Gray Television, Inc.