Obama Poverty Initiative

Five economically depressed communities will get extra help from the federal government to improve housing, education and jobs.

They are the first "promise zones" chosen under a new White House initiative as President Obama marks the 50th anniversary of President Lyndon Johnson's War on Poverty.

The first five promise zones are San Antonio, Philadelphia, Los Angeles, southeastern Kentucky and the Choctaw nation of Oklahoma.

The president first introduced this idea during his state of the union address last year.

Lawmakers from both parties are already embracing the idea.
"We’re encouraged that the president is finally, finally focused on a concrete approach to jobs that members of both parties can support," said Senator Mitch McConnell.

The five promise zones announced Thursday are the first of 20 communities that will be designated over the next 3 years.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 239492001 - wtvy.com/a?a=239492001
Gray Television, Inc.