ATLANTA (AP) - Georgia parents may soon be required to use a car
seat for their 6- and 7-year-old children.
Under current law, children under 6 years old have to be in a child restraint, but a bill passed by the Georgia House on Tuesday raises that to any child under 8. The bill, sponsored by Rep. Alan Powell, a Republican from Hartwell, includes an exemption for children under 8 who are at least 4 feet, nine inches or 40 pounds.
The first violation would carry a fine of up to $50. A second violation has a fine of up to $100.
Critics said the legislation is a "nanny bill" and the state shouldn't tell parents how to raise children. Powell said the bill will help give parents safety guidelines and prevent severe injuries and deaths.
The measure got a 129-43 vote. The bill now goes to the Senate.
(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or firstname.lastname@example.org.