Roby to Serve on Farm Bill Conference Committee

By: Press Release
By: Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – House Speaker John Boehner (R-OH) today named U.S. Representative Martha Roby (R-AL) to serve on the conference committee charged with negotiating a final agreement on the Farm Bill.

The House and Senate passed different versions of the Federal Agriculture Reform and Risk Management Act, commonly known as the Farm Bill, leading to a conference committee of lawmakers from both bodies to work out the differences. Rep. Roby, who serves on the House Committee on Agriculture and has championed reforms to farm and food stamp policy, said she was honored to be chosen for the task.

“For almost three years we’ve been working on a new Farm Bill that would meet this country’s agricultural and economic needs while enacting long-needed reforms to farm and food stamp policy. I’m pleased that the process is moving forward,” Rep. Roby said. “Not passing a Farm Bill is simply unacceptable, and though the House and Senate versions are very different, I’m hopeful we can find common ground.

“Agriculture is Alabama’s top industry, and I understand the need to pass a long-term Farm Bill to provide our farmers the certainty they deserve. However, we must ensure the bill contains the kind of reforms that shows Congress is serious about changing the culture of spending and government dependence.”

Rep. Roby will serve alongside fellow Alabama-delegation and Agriculture Committee Member Rep. Mike Rogers (R-AL). Alabama Farmer’s Federation President Jimmy Parnell said having two Members of Congress from Alabama serving on the Farm Bill conference committee gives the state a significant voice in ensuring strong farm policy.

“We are proud to have two members of Alabama’s congressional delegation serving on this important committee,” Parnell said. “U.S. Reps. Mike Rogers and Martha Roby are strong supporters of Alabama agriculture. They understand the urgent need to pass a farm bill, so farmers can make planting and financial decisions. We appreciate their work to provide long-term stability for farmers in a way that’s fiscally responsible.”

Additional Republican House Members selected to serve on the Farm Bill Conference Committee are:

Rep. Frank D. Lucas (R-OK), Chairman of the House Committee on Agriculture
Rep. Steve King (R-IA)
Rep. Randy Neugebauer (R-TX)
Rep. K. Michael Conaway (R-TX)
Rep. Glenn ‘GT’ Thompson (R-PA)
Rep. Austin Scott (R-GA)
Rep. Rick Crawford (R-AR)
Rep. Kristi Noem (R-SD)
Rep. Jeff Denham (R-CA)
Rep. Rodney Davis (R-IL)
Rep. Steve Southerland (R-FL)
Rep. Ed Royce (R-CA)
Rep. Tom Marino (R-PA)
Rep. Dave Camp (R-MI)
Rep. Sam Johnson (R-TX)

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 227546911 -
Gray Television, Inc.