Tax Deadlines Extended for Seven Alabama Counties

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) - Many people often find themselves wishing for more time to file their taxes.

Residents of seven Alabama counties declared federal disaster areas as a result of the March storms will actually get that wish.

The tax deadline is usually April 15, but that falls on a Sunday this year so the deadline is April 17.

But people who live in the disaster areas will have even longer -until April 30- to file their federal and state taxes.

The Internal Revenue Service and the Alabama Department of Revenue extended the filing deadlines nearly two weeks for residents of Coffee, Dale, Dallas, Henry, Jefferson, Montgomery and Wilcox counties.

Taxpayers can claim damage and personal property losses on their 2006 returns, even though the storm hit in 2007. Those who have already filed can also file an amended return.

The IRS says taxpayers claiming the loss for 2006 will receive an earlier refund, but waiting until the 2007 return could mean greater tax savings, depending on other income factors.

Go to or call (800) 829-1040 for more information or go to or call (800) 242-1099.

(Copyright 2007 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 6937762 -
Gray Television, Inc.